访问支持中心 访问支持中心 查找经销商 查找经销商 联系我们 联系我们

为什么惯性导航系统 (INS) 对于无人驾驶飞行器 (UAV) 测绘应用很重要?

应用说明2016 年 2 月 23 日

什么是无人驾驶航空器?

近年来,无人驾驶飞机的部署有所增加。这些无人驾驶飞行器(UAV)通常也称为无人机、无人驾驶飞机系统(UAS)或遥控飞机系统(RPAS)。出于以下描述的目的,这些术语将可互换使用。各种形状和尺寸的无人机在军队中已经使用了很多年。自那时以来,日益高效和自适应的制造程序(如 3D 打印)以及电子元件的小型化所带来的优势,使得在民用环境中部署无人机变得更加可行。现在,这项技术的应用如此简单,普通消费者可以购买无人机,练习飞行并安装摄像头和其他传感器以拍摄周围环境的图片。

无人机导航要求

无人机可以是固定翼、单翼或多旋翼空中平台,由地面操作员远程控制。当前,在世界许多飞行管辖区的民用领域,无人机都需要在操作员的肉眼(场地视线 - VLOS)范围内飞行。此类法规仍在不断发展,现在允许超越场地线(BLOS)作业的情况越来越多。在考虑专业和高端消费级无人机时,大多数无人机平台都将使用全球定位系统(GPS)。许多产品还将在其飞行控制器中至少包括一个低级惯性测量单元(IMU),以进行飞行导航和控制。

GPS 通常是用于描述全球导航卫星系统(GNSS)技术的通用术语,该技术用于通过从不断绕地球运行的 GNSS 卫星网络接收的计时信息来计算地球表面的位置。GNSS 系统访问的卫星星座可能包括原始的美国主导的全球定位系统(GPS)项目、俄罗斯 GLONASS 星座,或者其他正在开发的星座之一,例如欧洲主导的 GALILEO 或中国的北斗项目。利用全球导航卫星系统技术,可以根据实际坐标系自动计算和定位无人机的位置。

IMU 由一个陀螺仪和加速度计组装而成。在无人机平台上,这些 IMU 组件越来越多地使用微机电(MEMS)技术制造。IMU 将提供与三个轴上的无人机线性加速度数据,以及与无人机在横滚、俯仰和偏航方面的旋转测量值。

无人机上的飞行控制器将使用 GPS 数据来提供无人机在特定时间点的位置坐标。来自 IMU 的数据将告诉飞行控制器无人机是否水平,是否旋转,以及飞行过程中的稳定性。如果飞行控制器同时使用惯性和 GPS 信息,则可以向无人机及其操作员提供必要的反馈,从而在 VLOS 和 BLOS 场景中实现安全操作。

航空测绘面临的挑战

自 1900 年代中期以来,安装在飞机的摄像机一直用于监视或测绘目的。当航空摄像机的图像用于使用摄影测量数据来绘制地形图或陆地覆盖物,或计算坡度角度或地雷体积时,不仅要了解所使用的摄像机或传感器的规格(内部型号),而且还要了解:

  • 成像传感器的外部方向如何变化(即传感器相对于地面如何移动)。
  • 从上面成像时,固有的三维地面几何形状对测绘输出的测量和距离的影响。

飞机的导航系统提供飞机飞越航线和飞跃位置的相关信息。为了创建和更新地图,相机照片的位置和足迹需要通过照片中所见的景观要素(地面控制点- GCP)的已知坐标进行定位。通过应用航空三角方程将照片和图像中的要素与 CSP 的 x、y、z 坐标相关联,可以得出地面地形中的起伏。然而,这是一个需要大量人力参与且成本高昂的过程,其结果的质量取决于使用 GcCp 的数量和 GCP 的布局模式等因素。

这种对照已知全球气候 Cp 坐标进行地理配准的方法,主要用于为无人机航空摄影提供测量控制。随着无人机平台的应用市场越来越广阔,计算系统的成本也随之下降,平台本身的定价体系也更为优惠。进一步优化无人机平台上的 GPS 读数的方法,例如通过实时无线电链路(实时动态 GPS)或通过经过后处理的差分 GPS 工作流程从本地基站接收大气和时序校正司空见惯。然而,这仍然不能否定全球气候计划的使用,而且很容易忽略建立测量控制或进行这些必要的航空测量程序所需的时间。

直接地理参照

直接地理参照

航空摄影中看到的许多失真可以归因于机载平台很少以完全稳定和水平的方式移动这一事实引起的外部方向变化。平台本身将在拐角处倾斜,大气条件将导致其俯仰和偏航。即使将摄像机安装到自动找平的万向节上,在极端情况下,摄像机也不一定始终垂直于地面。此外,地球不是平坦的。飞机下方地面上的起伏(丘陵、山脉、山谷、建筑物)以及空中平台高度的变化都会导致所捕获图像的视角发生变化,从而导致在任何距离下的测试出现失真。

为了从航空摄影中获得可靠的地图产品,将从重叠的立体摄影对或经过处理的正交摄影对地图进行数字化。这两种技术的目的是从根本上规范景观中波动的影响,以生成距离真实的测绘产品。为了以现代自动化方式进行测绘,不仅需要收集拍摄地点坐标的数据,而且还需要了解相机模型,以及与相机运动总体轨迹以及在拍摄照片的特定时间点的方向参数相关的数据。

方向信息来自 IMU,更具体地说,来自计算模块,该模块对来自 GPS 系统(机载和来自本地基站)的位置数据以及来自 IMU 的方向信息进行统计处理,以对相机的轨迹进行总体最佳评估。正是这个计算模块使在空中平台移动时能够生成可靠的测绘产品,而这些系统被称为惯性导航系统(INS)。自 1990 年代末以来,测绘级 INS 系统已在有人机载平台上得到广泛利用。现在,在有人平台上部署的许多机载测绘传感器中,INS 的 IMU 组件已集成到传感器本身。

直接地理配准不仅能高效收集航空摄影,还适用于所有其他类型的测绘传感器,如光检测和测距(LiDAR)系统以及其他成像传感器(例如,在高光谱波段中进行测量的传感器)。

航空摄影和其他成像传感器

无人机通常使用成本较低的相机,而不是载人摄影操作中使用的相机,这些相机通常不是为空中使用而设计的。因此,这些摄像机很少能够集成用于无人机部署的精密 INS 系统。这意味着,考虑将 INS 集成到无人机平台上,以提高测绘项目的效率和质量,这一点更为重要。理想情况下,INS 应尽可能靠近测绘传感器,以便在整个任务期间对其位置和方向进行最佳估计。在载人空中平台上,由于飞机的尺寸,INS 系统可能仍位于距离相机支架一定距离的位置。然后,需要计算 INS 实体和摄像机框架之间的相对距离、角度和方向,从而提供所谓的杠杆臂矢量。

由于其整体尺寸减小,无人机上的 INS 机身和相机框架中心之间的距离可能比载人平台上的要小得多。通常,测绘传感器将直接安装在 INS 上或下方;然而,计算杠杆臂矢量将进一步改善直接地理配准结果。

固定架还是万向节?

如果摄像机安装在固定架上,则 INS 测量的 UAV 机身的移动将直接转换为摄像机空间位置的移动。如果摄像机未安装在常规的最低点(即直接聚焦在无人机下方),而是以倾斜角度安装,则正确计算对 INS 的杠杆臂矢量将会补偿摄像机安装的角度,并实现图像的直接地理配准。

无人机上经常使用万向节式固定架,以稳定摄像机与地面的安装角度,而与无人机平台中的移动无关。从理论上讲,这意味着,尽管无人机可能会横滚、俯仰或偏航,但摄像机应保持与地面齐平。万向节不考虑海拔的动态变化或无人机平台上的类似运动;这也将影响摄像机在太空中的位置。万向节也不会影响 INS 需要在整个测量中计算总体最佳位置估计值的要求。因此,即使将摄像机安装在万向节上,利用 INS 仍可在测绘项目上提供最佳的直接地理配准结果。

Lidar 传感器

Lidar 系统为某些类型的测绘项目带来了许多优势,例如与林业和采矿有关的项目。与通常跨图像帧被动捕获数据的摄像机传感器不同, Lidar 系统是主动系统。 Lidar 通过发射单个光脉冲并计算该光脉冲返回到 Lidar 传感器所需的时间来收集数据。每秒将有成千上万个光脉冲穿过一条被称为扫描线的测绘带发出。由于光速是已知的,因此可以计算每个脉冲到目标(例如地面)的距离。要计算目标的 x、y、z 坐标位置,还需要知道飞机的确切位置和方向,并动态地将其分配给每个脉冲回波。因此,使用高等级 INS 系统对无人机安装的 Lidar 进行直接地理配准至关重要。与其他测绘传感器(如航空摄像机)一样,当 INS 和 Lidar 系统一起安装在无人机上,考虑 Lidar 的安装角度计算杠杆臂时,可以获得最佳结果。

为什么惯性导航系统对于无人机测绘作业至关重要

虽然无人机的尺寸较小,但初始投资成本较低,并且通常在比载人系统的运行区域更小; 无人机测绘作业仍需要高效运行,以便能够更好地利用低成本平台的优势。通常,无人机测绘项目的交付价格低于载人机。为了保持竞争力,无人机操作者需要对现场进行测量工作所花费的时间敏感。众所周知,利用 GCP 进行传统的地理配准任务需要手动进行。不管使用哪种传感器,类似于有人空中测量作业中获得的经验,使用 INS 进行直接地理配准是一种从无人机准确收集测绘数据的方法,并且对于先进的传感器(如 LiDAR)至关重要。

返回顶部

返回顶部

,

Georeferencing on UAV

Why is an Inertial Navigation System (INS) important for unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) survey and mapping applications?

February 23, 2016

What is an unmanned aerial vehicle?

Recent years have seen an increase in the deployment of aircraft that do not have a manned pilot on board.  These unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV) are also commonly known as drones, unmanned aircraft systems (UAS), or remotely-piloted aircraft systems (RPAS).  For the purposes of the following descriptions, these terms will be used interchangeably.  Drones of all shapes and sizes have been used in the military for many years. Advantages brought by increasingly efficient and adaptive manufacturing procedures (such as 3D printing), and the miniaturization of electronic components; have since made it much more viable to deploy UAVs in civilian contexts.  Access to the technology is now such that it is straight-forward for the general consumer to purchase a UAV, practice flying it and mount cameras and other sensors to take pictures of the environment around them.

UAV navigation requirements

A UAV can be a fixed-wing, single or multi -rotor aerial platform that is remotely-controlled by a ground-based human operator.  Currently, for civilian use in many of world’s flight jurisdictions, the UAV will need to be flown within the unaided eyesight (visual line of site – VLOS) of the operator.  Such regulations are still evolving and there are now an increasing number of situations where beyond line of site (BLOS) operations are now being permitted.  When considering professional and high-end consumer grade UAVs, most UAV platforms will make use of a global positioning system (GPS).  Many will also include at least a low-grade inertial measurement unit (IMU ) within its flight controller for flight navigation and control.

GPS is often the generic term used to describe global navigation satellite system (GNSS) technologies, which are used to calculate a position on the earth’s surface by way of timing information received from a network of GNSS satellites that continually orbit the earth.  The satellite constellations accessed by the GNSS systems might include the original US-led Global Positioning System (GPS) project, the Russian GLONASS constellation, or one of the other constellations under development such as the European -led GALILEO, or China -based BeiDou projects.  With access to GNSS technology is the ability to automatically compute and locate the position of the UAV in line with a real-world coordinate system.

An IMU is comprised of an assembly of gyroscopes and accelerometers.  On a UAV platform these IMU components are increasingly manufactured using micro-electromechanical (MEMS) technology .  It is the IMU that will provide data related to the linear acceleration of the UAV on three axes, together with measurements pertaining to the rotation of the UAV in terms of roll, pitch and yaw.

The flight controller on the UAV will use data from the GPS to provide coordinates of where the UAV is at a particular point in time.  Data from the IMU, will tell the flight controller whether the UAV is level, if it is rotating, and essentially how stable it is during flight.  If the a flight controller uses both inertial and GPS information, necessary feedback to both the UAV and its operator can be provided for safe operations in both VLOS and BLOS operating scenarios.

Challenges of aerial mapping

Aircraft-mounted cameras have been used for surveillance or mapping purposes since the mid-1900s.  When images from aerial cameras are used for the purposes of using photogrammetry to map topography or land cover, or calculating slope angles or mine volumetrics; it is necessary to not only understand the specifications (internal model) of the camera or sensor used, but also:

  • How the exterior orientation of the imaging sensor changes (i.e. how the sensor moves relative to the ground)
  • The effect of distortions that inherently three-dimensional ground geometry has on the measurements and distances in mapping output when imaged from above.

The aircraft’s navigation systems provide information on the routing and part of the World that the aircraft is flying over.  For the creation and update of mapping, the location and footprint of the camera’s photographs have needed to be anchored via known coordinates of features in the landscape (ground control points – GCPs) that are seen in the photographs.  Undulations in the topography of the ground can be accounted for by applying aerotriangulation equations to both tie photographs together and associate features in the image with the x,y,z coordinates of the GCPs.  However this is both a manually intensive and costly process, where the quality of result will be dependent upon factors such as the number of GCPs used and the patterns that the GCPs are laid out in.

It is this method of georeferencing to the coordinates of known GCPs that has mainly been used to provide survey control to UAV aerial photography.  As UAV platforms have been increasingly aimed at ever wider markets, computation systems and therefore costs have been reduced to provide more favorable pricing points for the platforms themselves.  Methods to further refine GPS readings on the UAV platform, such as receiving atmospheric and timing corrections  from a local base  station via either a real-time radio link (real-time kinematic GPS) or via a post-processed differential GPS workflow,  are now commonplace.  Nevertheless, this still does not negate the use of GCPs, and it can be easy to overlook the time required to establish survey control or undertake these required aerotriangulation procedures.

Direct georeferencing

Direct georeferencing

Many of the distortions seen in aerial photography can be attributed to changes in exterior orientation caused by the fact that airborne platforms rarely move in a completely stable and level manner.  The platform itself will bank around corners, atmospheric conditions will cause it to pitch and yaw.  Even if the camera is fitted to a self-leveling gimbal, in extreme circumstances a camera may not always be oriented perpendicular to the ground surface.  Additionally, the earth is not flat.  Undulations on the ground below the aircraft (hills, mountains, valleys, buildings), together with variations in altitude of the aerial platform will cause changes in perspective in the image captured, and as a consequence cause distortions in any distances that are measured.

To derive reliable mapping products from aerial photography, maps will be digitized from overlapping stereo photographic pairs, or processed orthophotographs.  The aim of both of these techniques is to essentially normalize the effects of undulations in the landscape, to produce a mapping product where distances are true.  To undertake mapping in a modern automated manner it is not only necessary to collect data on the coordinates of where the photograph is being taken, but also to understand the camera model, together with data related to the overall trajectory of camera movement and its orientation parameters at the specific point in time when the photograph is taken.

Orientation information is derived from an IMU, and more specifically from a computational module that statistically processes both location data from the GPS system (onboard and from localized base-station), together with orientation information from the IMU to make an overall best estimate assessment of the camera’s trajectory.  It is this computational module that enables dependable mapping products to be produced while the aerial platform is moving, and it is these systems that are referred to as inertial navigation systems (INS).  Mapping-grade INS systems have been utilized widely on manned airborne platforms since the late 1990s .  On many of the airborne mapping sensors deployed on manned platforms the IMU component of the INS is now integrated onto the sensor itself.

Direct georeferencing not only provides the capability to efficiently collect aerial photography, but also apply to all other types of mapping sensor such as light detection and ranging (LiDAR) systems and other imaging sensors (for example, those that measure in hyperspectral bands).

Aerial photography and other imaging sensors

UAVs are typically flown with lower cost cameras than for manned photography operations, often these cameras were not originally designed for airborne use.  Accordingly, it is rare for these cameras to already incorporate sophisticated INS systems for deployment on the UAV.  This means that it is even more important to consider incorporating an INS onto a UAV platform to improve the efficiency and quality of a mapping project.  Ideally the INS will be mounted as close as possible to the mapping sensor in order to get the best estimate of its position and orientation of the mapping sensor throughout the mission.  On manned airborne platforms, due to the size of the aircraft the INS system might still be situated some distance away from the camera mount.  A relative distance, angle and orientation then needs to be calculated between the INS body and the camera frame, providing what is known as the lever-arm vector.

Due to their reduced overall size, the distances between the INS body and center of the camera frame on a UAV are likely to be much smaller than on a manned platform.  Often the mapping sensor will be mounted directly on, or below the INS; nevertheless calculating the lever-arm vector will further improve the direct georeferenced results.

Fixed-mount or gimbal?

If the camera is on a fixed-mount, the movement of the UAV body as measured by the INS will directly translate to movement in the spatial position of the camera.  If the camera is not mounted in a conventional nadir (i.e. focused directly below the UAV), but at an oblique angle, then proper calculation of the lever-arm vector to the INS will account for the angle that the camera mount is on and enable direct georeferencing of the image.

Frequently gimbal-style mounts are used on UAVs to stabilize the mounting angle of the camera to the ground, independently of movement in the UAV platform.  In theory, this means that while the UAV may roll, pitch or yaw, the camera should remain level to the ground.  What the gimbal does not do is account for dynamic changes in altitude or those same motions on the UAV platform; that will also have an impact on the position of the camera in space.  Nor does a gimbal negate the requirement for an INS to calculate an overall best estimate of position throughout the survey.  Accordingly, even if the camera is mounted on a gimbal, utilizing an INS still provides the best direct georeferenced result on the mapping project.

Lidar sensors

Lidar systems bring many advantages for some types of mapping projects, such as those concerned with forestry and mining.  Unlike camera sensors that typically capture data passively across image frames, lidar systems are active systems.  A lidar collects data by emitting individual pulses of light and calculating the time that it takes for that pulse of light to return to the lidar sensor.  Many thousands of pulses of light per second will be emitted across a swath, known as a scan line.  Since the speed of light is known, the distance of each pulse to its target (for example, the ground) can be calculated.  To calculate an x,y,z coordinate position of the target also requires that the exact position and orientation of the aircraft to be known and for it to be dynamically assigned to each these pulse returns.  As a result direct georeferencing of UAV mounted lidar is essential, using a high-grade INS system.  As with other mapping sensors such as aerial cameras, best results are obtained when the INS and lidar system are mounted together on the UAV and for lever-arms to be calculated that account for the mounting angle of the lidar.

Why inertial navigation systems are essential for UAV-based mapping operations

While they are smaller in size, can be implemented at a lower initial capital cost, and are typically operated over smaller areas than manned systems; UAV based mapping operations still need to operate efficiently to be able to better capitalize on the advantages of a lower cost platform.  Typically, a UAV based mapping project will be delivered at a lower price-point than a manned operation.  To stay competitive, UAV operators need to be sensitive to the costs of time spent onsite to conduct survey work.  Traditional georeferencing tasks utilizing GCPs are well known for being manually intensive.  Regardless of the sensor used, similarly to experiences learned in manned airborne survey operations, direct georeferencing using an INS provides a means of accurately collecting mapping data from a UAV, and is essential for utilizing advanced sensors such as LiDAR.