访问支持中心 访问支持中心 查找经销商 查找经销商 联系我们 联系我们

三角形。距离测量如何帮助计算出位置

行业文章 2020年10月13日

想象一下,你和一些朋友站在一个大的广场上。每个朋友都有一种发出不同声音的方式(起爆枪、钹、喊叫等)。你们同步手表,一个朋友去站在场地的每个角落。从中午开始,他们约定每10秒开始发出一次声音。

现在假设当他们开始发出声音的时候,其中有两个声音同时到达,不久后另两个声音也跟着到达。然后你向延迟声音的方向移动一点。十秒钟后,又有一阵噪音到达,但这次第二对噪音的延迟时间更短。如果你继续移动,你会到达一个点,所有四个噪音同时到达。由于你知道每个人都站在场地的角落,你也可以计算出你一定是正好站在中心。

关于 GPS导航卫星可能并不是位于天空的角落,但由于星历数据的存在,我们可以计算出它们相对于信号发送时的已知坐标系的精确位置,并且利用C/A代码,我们还可以计算出我们离那个已知位置有多远。接下来发生的事情就是一个叫做三分法的过程。

三角法有点像三角法。在三角测量中,你通过说它与点1成'a'角,与点2成'b'角来确定一个特定的点。从每一个点出发,在这些指定的角度上画出的线将会交叉,而它们交叉的点就是我们新点的位置。

三角测量法将未知长度的线沿已知角度投影出来,找到一个点。

只要有一个以上的参考点,我们就可以确定一个新点的位置。所以,如果我们知道点x与点1的夹角为450,与已知点2的夹角为-450,那么这些投影线相交的点一定是点x的位置。

三边测量法的工作方式类似,但使用距离而不是角度来查找点。另一个主要区别是,使用三边测量法时,您至少需要三个参考点,而不是两个,才能将搜索范围缩小到一个位置。

1

一个参考点

三段论使用已知长度但未知角度的线(换句话说是圆)来寻找一个点。有了一个参考点,点 x可以是它周长的任何地方。

2

两个参考点

当我们有两个参考点时,我们知道点x一定在它们两个交点中的任何一个,但如果没有第三个参考点,就不可能知道是哪一个。

3

三个参考点

只要有两个以上的参考点,我们就可以确定一个新点的位置。所以,如果我们知道点x离点1有1米,离点2有1.5米,离点3有0.75米,那么这些圆相交的点一定是点 x的位置。

GPS 使用相同的技术,但处理方法略有不同。我们一直在观察的圆圈是二维的。在现实生活中,事物远不止是三维的,这意味着我们的相交圆成为相交球体。

当两个球体相交时,你不会最终得到两个交点,你会得到一个交点环(想象两个气泡加入到一起)。如果第三个气泡加入,就会产生两个点,三个相交环都在这里相遇。

两个球体相交

当两个球体相交时,交点就会形成一个圆(用红色勾勒)。

三个球体相交

当三个球体相交时,三个球体只有两个点是共同的(每边一个)。

此时,您可能还记得听说过 GPS 只需三颗卫星即可生成位置测量值。这种说法既是对的,也是错的。从上图中可以清楚地看出,为了使用三边测量法得出单个点,需要第四个球体(向我们展示哪个点是正确的)。但是,由于 GPS 使用以地球为中心的地球固定坐标系,因此可以立即排除其中一个点,因为它恰好位于地球大气层之外。因此,另一点必须是正确的。

因此 GPS 只能使用三颗卫星来生成位置测量值,但是为了实现这一点,其内部时钟必须准确,否则无法正确计算距离。校正内部时钟需要四颗卫星!这就是为什么这种说法既对又错的原因。只要系统使用四颗卫星来校正其内部时钟,它就可以降回三颗卫星,并且仍然可以进行位置估算 — 只是不能永远做到这一点。

为了充分回答"什么是GNSS?'我们现在可以讨论仅基于C/A码的GPS定位测量--即标准定位服务(SPS)

返回顶部

返回顶部

,

Visit Support Centre Find a Distributor Contact us

Trilateration: How distance measurements help to work out location

Industry Articles October 13, 2020

Imagine you and some friends are standing in a large square field. Each friend has a way of making a different noise (starter pistol, cymbal, shouting, etc.). You synchronise watches, and one friend goes and stands in each corner of the field. Starting at mid-day, they agree to start making a noise once every 10 seconds.

Now suppose when they start to make noise that two of the sounds arrive simultaneously, shortly followed by the other two. You then move a little in the direction of delayed sounds. Ten seconds later another burst of noise arrives, but this time the delay for the second pair is shorter. If you keep moving you will get to a point where all four noises arrive simultaneously. As you know each person is standing in the corner of the field, you can also work out that you must be standing exactly at the centre.

In terms of GPS navigation, the satellites may not be nicely located in the corners of the sky, but because of the ephemeris data, we can work out their precise location relative to a known co-ordinate system when the signal was sent, and using the C/A code, we can also work out how far we are from that known location. What happens next is a process called trilateration.

Trilateration is a bit like triangulation. With triangulation, you identify a specific point by saying it is at angle of ‘a‘ from point 1 and angle of ‘b‘ from point 2. Lines drawn at those specified angles from each point will cross, and the point at which they cross is the location of our new point.

Triangulation projects lines of unknown length along known angles to find a point.

 

 

As long as there is more than one reference point we can identify the location of a new point. So, if we know point x is located at angle of 450 from point 1, and at an -450 from known point 2, the point at which those projected lines intersect must be the location of point x.

Trilateration works in a similar way but uses distance rather than angles to find a point. The other major difference is that with trilateration, you need a minimum of three reference points rather than two to narrow the search down to one location.

1

One reference point

Trilateration uses lines of known length but unknown angle (circles in other words) to find a point. With one reference point, Point x could be anywhere on it’s perimeter.

2

Two reference points

When we have two reference points, we know that Point x must be at either of their two intersections, but without a third reference point it is not possible to know which one.

3

Three reference points

As long as there are more than two reference points we can identify the location of a new point. So, if we know point x is 1 metre from point 1, 1.5 meters from point 2 and 0.75 meters from point 3, the point at which those circles intersect must be the location of point x.

GPS uses the same technique but has to approach things slightly differently. The circles we’ve been looking at are two-dimensional. In real life, things are far more three-dimensional, and that means our intersecting circles become intersecting spheres.

When two spheres intersect, you don’t end up with two points of intersection, you end up with a ring of intersection (imagine two bubbles joined together). If a third bubble joins in, it creates two points where all three intersection rings meet.

Two spheres intersect

When two spheres intersect, the intersection creates a circle (outlined in red).

Three spheres intersect

When three spheres intersect, there are only two points common to all three spheres (one each side).

At this point, you might recall hearing that GPS only needs three satellites in order to generate a position measurement. This statement is both right and wrong. It’s clear from the image above that in order to use trilateration to arrive at a single point, a fourth sphere is required (to show us which point is the correct one). However, as GPS uses an Earth centred, Earth fixed coordinate system, one of the points can be ruled out immediately as it would be well outside Earth’s atmosphere. The other point must, therefore, be the correct one.

So GPS can generate a position measurement using only three satellites, but in order to do that, its internal clock must be accurate otherwise it can’t calculate the distance properly. And correcting the internal clock requires four satellites! That’s why the statement was both right and wrong. As long as the system has used four satellites to correct its internal clock, it can drop back to only three satellites and still make a position estimate—it just can’t do it forever.

To fully answer the question, What is GNSS?‘ we could now discuss GPS position measurements that are based only on the C/A code – ie. Standard Positioning Service (SPS).

return to top

Return to top

,