访问支持中心 访问支持中心 查找经销商 查找经销商 联系我们 联系我们

什么是RTK?

行业文章 2020年10月13日

RTK 代表实时运动学,是另一种提高 GPS 位置测量精度的技术,然而,它是最难理解且实施最密集的技术之一。

标准定位服务(SPS)是GPS系统实现的第一个位置固定,他们使用的是C/A代码.如果 微分校正卫星信号的时间延迟可以被消除,SPS的精度可以得到提高。使用 DPGS大约40厘米的位置精度是相当正常的。RTK是DGPS的下一步,它有两个版本:RTK浮点数,可达到分米级精度;RTK整数,可达到厘米级精度。

要了解这两个版本的工作原理,就必须了解两件事。

  • 第一,RTK打破了我们使用民用GPS接收器应该能够实现的规则。它并不是为了帮助我们而设计在系统中的一项技术。相反,它是全球定位系统制造商想出的一种方法,目的是利用C/A码达到比预期更高的精确度。
  • 其次要明白的是,它是基于载波本身,而不是基于载波所携带的C/A码或导航信息。

RTK 实时运动学

 

那么它是如何运作的呢?

在我们的"什么是SPS"页面中,我们讨论了SPS是如何基于使用C/A代码计算的伪距测量。接收器通过将其时钟与C/A码同步来实现这一点。 GPS卫星然后为它能看到的每一颗卫星生成自己的C/A码版本。如果它必须将自己的C/A代码副本延迟7毫秒,以便与天线接收到的C/A代码相匹配,那么它就知道来自该卫星的信号的旅行时间是7毫秒,然后它就可以计算出该卫星的距离有多远。

RTK的最终目的是确定天线和卫星之间有多少载波。原因很简单。每颗卫星广播一个独特的C/A代码由1,023位组成。该代码是以1.023 Mb/s的速度发送,这意味着每微秒发送一个位。在一微秒内,卫星发出的无线电信号覆盖约300米的距离。

然而,C/A码调制到的载波的频率要高得多--1575.42MHz。这意味着一个单波覆盖约19厘米。如果我们可以计算出有多少全波有卫星和天线之间,那么它将有可能计算的距离更准确。事实上,如果我们知道有多少全波,而且也可以测量部分波(相位角),那么我们就可以非常精确。

RTK 整数和 RTK 浮点解可以被视为在系统中同时运行的两种独立(但相关)的算法。如果 RTK 整数有一个有效的解,则系统将切换至该解(但是 RTK 浮点解算法将继续在后台运行)。如果 RTK 整数随后变得无效,则系统将恢复为 RTK 浮点解,只要载波相位锁没有丢失,就无需再次启动。

那么这两种算法有什么不同呢?RTK Float的目的是利用统计方法确定你的可能位置(在目前 DGPS的基础上提高 精度)。它要求至少有四颗与基站通用的卫星,(通俗地讲),在当前位置测量值周围的圆圈中寻找卫星旋转的点。与RTK Integer不同的是,Float算法从不试图解决模糊性问题--它只试图在围绕当前位置估计值画出的圆圈内确定最可能的位置。RTK Float的精度从40厘米左右开始,但最多增加到20厘米。

另一方面,RTK Integer的目的是解决模糊性问题,在它完成之前不使用。它需要五颗普通卫星,当找到一个有效的解决方案时,系统知道有n个载波加上它和卫星之间的任何部分波。它可以将其测量结果对准19厘米波长的大约0.6%。当多个测量值被组合成一个导航解决方案时,这可以得到大约1厘米的精度。

现在我们已经到了我们的''中的一个点。什么是GNSS?'系列,我们已经讨论了GNSS系统如何普遍易于使用,不会漂移,并能达到很高的精度。但生活中没有什么是完美的,不是吗?那么,什么是缺点呢?什么最能提高精度,以及 GNSS的局限性是什么??

返回顶部

返回顶部

,

Visit Support Centre Visit Support Centre Find a Distributor Find a Distributor Contact us Contact us

What is RTK?

Industry Articles October 13, 2020

RTK stands for Real-Time Kinematic and is another technique that improves the accuracy of GPS position measurements—however, it’s one of the hardest to understand and the most intensive to implement.

Standard Positioning Service (SPS) is the first position fix that GPS systems achieve, and they do this using the C/A code. If differential corrections are available, the SPS accuracy can be improved as timing delays on the satellite signals can be removed. Using DPGS position accuracy of around 40 cm is fairly normal. RTK is the next step on from DGPS, and there are two versions of it; RTK float, which achieves decimetre level accuracy and RTK integer, which achieves centimetre level accuracy.

To understand how either version works it’s necessary to understand two things:

  • The first is that RTK is bending the rules of what we should be able to achieve using a civilian GPS receiver. It is not a technology that was designed into the system to help us. Instead, it’s a method that was figured out by GPS manufacturers to achieve greater accuracy than was intended using the C/A code.
  • The second thing to understand is that it is based on the carrier waves themselves, not on the C/A code or navigation message they carry.

RTK real time kinematic

 

So how does it work?

In our What is SPS page, we discussed how SPS is based on pseudo-range measurements calculated using the C/A code. The receiver does this by synchronising its clock with the GPS satellites, then generating its own version of the C/A code for each satellite it can see. If it has to delay its own copy of the C/A code by, say, seven milliseconds in order to match the C/A code being received at the antenna, then it knows the travel time of the signal from that satellite is seven milliseconds and it can then work out how far away the satellite is.

The ultimate aim of RTK is to establish how many carrier waves there are between the antenna and the satellite. The reason for this is simple. Each satellite broadcasts a unique C/A code made up of 1,023 bits. The code is sent at a rate of 1.023 Mb/s, which means one bit is sent about every microsecond. In one microsecond the radio signal from the satellite covers a distance of about 300 metres.

The carrier wave that the C/A code is modulated onto is at a much higher frequency however—1575.42 MHz. This means a single wave covers about 19 cm. If we could work out how many full waves there are between the satellite and the antenna, then it would be possible to calculate the distance much more accurately. In fact, if we know how many full waves there are, and it’s possible to measure partial waves (the phase angle) too, then we can be very precise.

RTK Integer and RTK Float can be considered as two separate (but related) algorithms running concurrently within a system. If RTK Integer has a valid solution, the system switches to it (however the RTK Float algorithm continues running in the background). If RTK Integer subsequently becomes invalid, the system reverts back to RTK Float, which does not need to start again as long as the carrier phase lock is not lost.

So how are the algorithms different? RTK Float aims to identify your probable location (improving on the current DGPS accuracy) using statistical methods. It requires a minimum of four common satellites with the base station, and (in lay-terms), looks for a point in a circle around the current position measurement about which the satellites are revolving. Unlike RTK Integer, the Float algorithm never attempts to solve the ambiguity problem—it only tries to identify the most probable position within a circle drawn around the current position estimate. The accuracy for RTK Float starts around 40 cm, but increases to 20 cm at best.

RTK Integer, on the other hand, aims to solve the ambiguity problem and is not used until it has done so. It requires five common satellites, and when a valid solution is found the system knows there are n carrier waves plus any partial wave between it and the satellite. It can align its measurements to about 0.6% of the 19 cm wavelength, giving an accuracy of about 1 cm.

Now we’ve reached the point in our ‘What is GNSS?‘ series where we’ve discussed how GNSS systems are generally easy to use, don’t drift and can achieve high levels of accuracy. But nothing in life is perfect, is it? So, what’s the down side? What most improves accuracy, and what are the limitations of GNSS?

return to top

Return to top

,