访问支持中心 访问支持中心 查找经销商 查找经销商 联系我们 联系我们

什么是惯性导航系统?

行业文章 2024 年 5 月 5 日

什么是惯性?什么是惯性导航系统?INS 代表什么?这些问题都很好问,因为它们与日常生活息息相关。例如,开车上班时的导航。在本博客中,我们将帮助您回答这些问题,但我们将从头开始,非常明智...

什么是 INS?

惯性导航系统有各种形状和大小。但它们有一个共同点,即使用多个惯性传感器和某种形式的中央处理单元来跟踪来自这些传感器的测量结果。

INS 使用一系列技术,但通常包括

 

+ 惯性测量单元 (IMU)

- 加速度计

- 陀螺仪

+ 全球导航卫星系统接收器

+ 中央处理器(CPU)

RT3000 v4 产品图片 1
RT3000 v4 GNSS/INS

我们稍后将了解 INS 的实际工作原理,但现在,最重要的是要认识到 INS 与 GPS 的区别--您可能对 GPS 更熟悉。

打开 GPS 接收器,假设一切正常,在很短的时间后,它将生成位置测量值。接收器生成的位置测量值非常具体,不存在 GPS 的不精确性。它指出“您在这个纬度和这个经度”- 换句话说,它用已知的坐标系提供给我们一个绝对位置。惯性导航系统不能这样工作。就它们而言,它们生成的测量值是相对于他们最后已知的位置。因此,即使在惯性导航系统已经打开几分钟后,它也不能说“您在这个纬度和这个经度”,但它可能会说,“您没有从开始位置移动“。

那么人们为什么要使用惯性导航系统呢?如果它们不能告诉你你在哪里,那么它们是如何能够将人类导航到月球上的,为什么潜艇不会一直坠毁,飞机和导弹又是如何找到方向的?值得庆幸的是,这些问题的答案很简单。惯性导航系统可以计算出它所处的位置与它的起点--因此,如果你告诉INS的起点,它就可以根据自己的测量结果轻松地计算出现在的位置。这就是宇宙飞船、潜艇、飞机和导弹如何使用INS成功导航的原因--因为它们知道自己的起点。

现在我们已经讨论了什么是惯性导航系统,下一个合乎逻辑的问题是: 'INS到底是如何工作的?

要全面了解惯性导航系统,还需要了解 惯性导航系统参照系这样您就能准确解释 x、y 和 z 轴上记录的数值。您还需要进一步了解大多数惯性导航系统使用的传感器类型,包括 加速度计陀螺仪.要了解惯性导航系统如何跟踪其在三维空间中的位置,您还需要了解 惯性导航.要了解惯性导航系统的优缺点,还需要了解漂移。 漂移。

 

需要一个汽车测试的INS吗?- 了解更多

需要一个用于测绘的INS吗?- 了解更多

需要一个自主性应用的INS吗?- 了解更多

 

惯性导航技术、传感器等

如前所述,惯性导航系统由几种不同的技术和传感器组成。惯性测量单元(IMU)包含多个加速度计和陀螺仪,可提供广泛的惯性测量,如俯仰/滚动和加速度。此外,还包括一个提供位置更新的全球导航卫星系统(GNSS)接收器和一个管理数据的中央处理器。在本节中,我们将进一步了解构成 INS 的技术和传感器。

 

全球导航卫星系统接收器

全球导航卫星系统辅助惯性导航系统利用全球导航卫星系统接收器的位置更新来补充机载惯性测量单元的测量结果。全球导航卫星系统接收器可跟踪来自多个卫星星座的卫星信号。四个主要的卫星星座是伽利略、格罗纳斯、全球定位系统和北斗。

通过将卫星输入与 IMU 的数据相结合,OxTS GNSS/INS 能够以高更新率提供厘米级的实时位置精度,并在所有三个轴上提供方向和加速度。

点击此处了解有关全球导航卫星系统接收器的更多信息

 

INS 参考框架

在进行数据采集项目之前,惯性导航系统必须了解自己在三维空间中的方向或 "参照系"。机载 IMU 将提供与惯性导航系统的运动和方向有关的信息,但在准确完成这项工作之前,它首先需要知道上下左右的方向。

OxTS 惯性导航系统能够将运动从一个参照系转换到另一个参照系,只要它知道一开始是在哪个参照系中。这通常在配置阶段完成。

点击此处了解更多有关 INS 参考框架的信息

 

加速计

加速度计是所有OxTS 惯性导航系统中使用的传感器类型之一。顾名思义,它们只能测量加速度。不过,通过将加速度乘以时间等其他因素,可以计算出速度等其他测量值。

加速度计在惯性导航系统中非常有用,因为它可以帮助用户获得有关车辆速度、行驶距离的重要信息,以及在汽车测试环境中有关撞击前时间的重要信息。

加速度计的类型多种多样,但OxTS 惯性导航系统使用的是微型机电系统(MEMS)加速度计。

点击此处了解有关加速度计的更多信息

 

陀螺仪

陀螺仪是惯性导航系统中使用的传感器,用于测量设备的旋转。

OxTS 惯性导航系统使用微型机电系统(MEMS)陀螺仪。有许多不同类型的 MEMS 陀螺仪可供选择,但OxTS 惯性导航系统使用的是以 °/s 为单位测量角速度的陀螺仪。

与加速度计的工作原理类似,陀螺仪并不能立即告诉 INS 它的方向,但只要它一开始就掌握了这些信息,它就能从那时起计算出自己的方向。

点击此处了解有关陀螺仪的更多信息

 

死而复生

OxTS 惯性导航系统中的惯性测量单元包含三个加速度计和三个陀螺仪。使用每种装置的三个加速度计和三个陀螺仪,设备就能通过一种称为惯性导航的过程了解和跟踪其在三维空间中的位置。

惯性导航系统只需将机载陀螺仪和加速度计的测量值与上次已知的位置相加,就能计算出它在三维空间中的位置。这样,它就能知道自己现在所处的位置。

点击此处了解更多有关死期计算工作原理的信息

 

漂移

和大多数东西一样,惯性导航系统也有其优缺点。惯性导航系统的工作原理是利用 GNSS 接收机的位置更新来辅助 IMU 的测量。当没有额外的辅助源时,惯性导航系统就是 "无辅助 "的,只使用 IMU 的测量值。当 "无辅助 "时,由于陀螺仪和加速度计测量中的微小误差累积,位置会发生漂移。

在没有全球导航卫星系统的情况下,可以将其他辅助源集成到导航引擎中,以限制位置漂移。您可以在OxTS 了解更多有关利用其他辅助源的信息。 OxTS 通用辅助数据 (GAD) 接口

点击此处了解更多漂移信息

 

惯性导航系统如何工作?

我们已经讨论了什么是惯性导航系统,但它是如何工作的呢?惯性导航系统是一种复杂的设备。它由多种技术组成,使用户能够准确了解自己在三维空间中的位置。惯性导航系统的核心是 IMU。它是加速度计和陀螺仪的集合,可为用户提供有关设备运动和方向的精确测量。

通过与全球导航卫星系统(GNSS)接收器的集成,该系统能够确保系统不会漂移。为了在没有全球导航卫星系统的情况下进一步限制位置漂移,还可以使用其他技术和传感器。

最简单地说,INS 的工作原理是了解作用在它身上的力。然后,它将根据已知的起点,通过计算速度和行驶距离,提供一个新的相对位置。

这样,INS 就能提供姿态、位置和速度的最新信息。

 

态度

在汽车测试和测绘等许多应用中,姿态测量对定位非常重要。姿态提供物体在三维环境中的位置信息,即滚动、俯仰和偏航。这些测量值是相对于水平面和正北参考框架计算得出的。

 

速度和位置

正如本帖前面提到的,INS 不能直接测量速度,因为加速度计只能测量加速度。但这并不是说 INS 不能测量速度。通过记录物体上的加速度大小和持续时间,INS 可以通过加速度乘以时间轻松计算出速度。

通过一种称为 "死算 "的过程,无辅助 INS 仍能准确计算出其位置。通过了解其最后的已知位置,并掌握其航向以及到达该位置所需的时间,INS 可以计算出其新的估计位置。但需要注意的是,无辅助 INS 会随着时间的推移而漂移。

OxTS 惯性导航系统

OxTS 这些公司生产的惯性导航系统具有不同的精度和外形尺寸,非常适合各种应用。

每台设备都配有我们免费提供的NAVsuite 软件,使您能够对 INS 数据进行配置、监控、后处理和分析。这些设备还可以补充一些可选的软件工具和功能,使您能够根据自己的具体要求定制设备。

 

RT3000 v4

为了在最重要的时候


了解更多

RT3000 v4 DO-160

RT3000 v4 精确度,采用航空航天就绪、通过 DO-160 认证的外壳。


了解更多

RT1003 v2

准备好应对具有挑战性的GNSS环境


了解更多

xNAV650

性能强大,经济实惠
(以太网和串行接口)


了解更多

AV200

经济型封装,性能稳定
(以太网和 CAN)


了解更多

xRED3000 - OEM 板

竞争优势至关重要


了解更多
返回顶部

返回顶部

,

Visit Support Centre Visit Support Centre Find a Distributor Find a Distributor Contact us Contact us

What is INS? / What’s an inertial navigation system?

Industry Articles May 5, 2024

What is an Inertial Navigation System?

What’s inertial? What’s an inertial navigation system? What does INS stand for? These are good questions to ask as they are relevant to everyday life. For example, when trying to navigate to work by car. In this blog we’ll help you answer them but we’ll start, sensibly enough, at the beginning…

What’s an INS?

Inertial navigation systems come in all shapes and sizes. One thing they have in common though is their use of multiple inertial sensors, and some form of central processing unit to keep track of the measurements coming from those sensors.

An INS uses a range of technologies but typically include:

 

+ Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU)

– Accelerometers

– Gyroscopes

+ GNSS Receiver

+ Central Processing Unit (CPU)

RT3000 v4 Product Picture 1
RT3000 v4 GNSS/INS

We’ll look at how an INS actually works in a moment, but for now, the most important thing to realise is how they differ from GPS—which you’re probably more familiar with.

Switch on a GPS receiver and, assuming everything works correctly, after a short time it will generate a position measurement. Ignoring the inaccuracies GPS has, the position measurement the receiver generates is quite specific. It says ‘you are at this latitude and this longitude‘—in other words, it gives us an absolute position using a known co-ordinate system. Inertial navigation systems don’t work like that. In their case, the measurement they generate is relative to their last known position. So even after an inertial navigation system has been turned on for several minutes, it can’t say ‘you are at this latitude and this longitude‘, but what it can say is, ‘you haven’t moved from where you started‘.

So why do people use inertial navigation systems at all? If they can’t tell you where you are, how were they able to navigate man to the moon, why don’t submarines crash all the time and how do aeroplanes and missiles find their way? Thankfully the answer to these question is simple. An inertial navigation system works out where it is in relation to where it started—so if you tell the INS where it started, it can easily work out where it is now, based on its own measurements. That is how spaceships, submarines, aircraft and missiles all successfully navigate using an INS—because they know where they started from.

Now we’ve discussed what an inertial navigation system is, the next logical question is ‘How does an INS actually work?’

To fully understand inertial navigation systems, its useful to also know about INS frames of reference, so that you can accurately interpret the values registered on your x-, y- and z-axis. You’ll also want to know more about the sensor types used in most inertial navigation systems – accelerometers and gyroscopes. To understand how an inertial navigation system keeps track of where it is in three-dimensional space, you also need to know about dead reckoning. And then to appreciate the strengths and weaknesses of INS, you also need to know about drift.

 

Need an INS for Automotive Testing?Read more

Need an INS for Mapping?Read more

Need an INS for an Autonomy application?Read more

 

Inertial Navigation Technologies, Sensors and more

As mentioned already, an Inertial Navigation System is made up of several different technologies and sensors. The Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) contains a number of accelerometers and gyroscopes that provide a wide range of inertial measurements such as pitch/roll and acceleration. A GNSS receiver is also included which provides position updates and a central processing unit that manages the data. In this section we’ll take a closer look at the technologies and sensors that make up an INS.

 

GNSS Receivers

A GNSS-aided Inertial Navigation System uses position updates from a GNSS receiver to supplement the measurements created by the onboard Inertial Measurement Unit. A GNSS receiver tracks satellite signals from multiple satellite constellations. The four main satellite constellations are Galileo, GLONASS, GPS and BeiDou.

By blending the satellite inputs with data from the IMU, an OxTS GNSS/INS is able to provide real-time centimetre-level position accuracy at high update rates and with orientation and acceleration in all three axes.

Learn more about GNSS receivers here

 

INS Frames of Reference

Before a data collection project, it’s important for an Inertial Navigation System to understand how it is orientated in 3D space or its ‘frame of reference’. The onboard IMU will provide information pertaining to the INS’ motion and orientation, however before it can do this accurately it first needs to know which way is up, down, left and right.

An OxTS Inertial Navigation System is able to convert movement from one frame of reference to another, as long as it knows which frame of reference it is in to begin with. This is generally done at the configuration stage.

Learn more about INS Frames of Reference here

 

Accelerometers

Accelerometers are one of the sensor types used in all OxTS Inertial Navigation Systems. As the name suggests, they only measure the rate of acceleration. However, other measurements, such as velocity, can be calculated by multiplying the acceleration by other factors, like time.

An accelerometer is useful in an inertial navigation system because it can help give the user important information about a vehicle’s speed, distance travelled and importantly in an automotive testing setting, time until impact.

There are a range of different types of accelerometers but OxTS Inertial Navigation Systems use micro-electromechanical system (MEMS) accelerometers.

Learn more about accelerometers here

 

Gyroscopes

A gyroscope, or gyro, is a sensor used in an inertial navigation system that measures the the rotation of the device.

OxTS Inertial Navigation Systems use micro-electromechanical system (MEMS) gyroscopes. There are many different types of MEMS gyroscope available, however OxTS Inertial Navigation Systems use those that measure angular velocity in °/s.

In a similar way to how an accelerometer works, a gyroscope doesn’t immeditely tell the INS which way it is orientated, but as long as it has this information begin with it can work out its orientation from then on.

Learn more about gyroscopes here

 

Dead Reckoning

The inertial measurement unit within an OxTS Inertial Navigation System contains three accelerometers and three gyroscopes. Using three of each allows the device to understand and keep track of its position in 3D space using a process known as dead reckoning.

The inertial navigation system will calculate its position in 3D space by simply taking the measurements from whichever onboard gyroscopes and accelerometers are subjected to a force and adding them to its last known position. From that, it will understand where it is now.

Learn more about how dead reckoning works here

 

Drift

Like most things, an inertial navigation system has its strengths and weaknesses. An inertial navigation system works by using position updates from a GNSS receiver to aid the measurements from the IMU. When an additional aiding source isn’t available the INS is ‘un-aided’ and uses only the IMU measurements. When ‘un-aided’ position drift occurs due to the accumulation of small errors in the gyroscope and accelerometer measurements.

In the absense of GNSS – other aiding sources can be integrated into the navigation engine to constrain position drift. You can learn more about the work OxTS is doing to take advantage of additional sources of aiding here – OxTS Generic Aiding Data (GAD) Interface

Learn more about drift here

 

How do Inertial Navigation Systems work?

So we’ve discussed what an INS is, but how does it work? An inertial navigation system is a complex device. It comprises multiple technologies to enable its user to accurately understand its position in 3D space. Central to the INS is the IMU. A collection of accelerometers and gyroscopes that provide the user with accurate measurements about the device’s motion and orientation.

Through integration with a GNSS receiver, the system is able to ensure the systems doesn’t drift. To further constrain position drift in the absense of GNSS, other technology and sensors can be used.

In the most simplest terms, an INS works by understanding the force which acts upon it. It will then provide a new relative position based on a known starting point, by calculating the speed and distance travelled.

The INS is then capable of providing updates on attitude, position and velocity.

 

Attitude

Attitude measurements are improtant for positioning in many applications, including Automotive Testing and Mapping. Attitude provides information about an objects position in a 3D environment, namely roll, pitch and yaw. The measurements are calculated with respect to a horizontal plane and due north reference frame.

 

Velocity and Position

As mentioned earlier in this post an INS doesnt directly measure velocity as the accelerometers will only measure acceleration. That isn’t to say however, that an INS cannot measure velocity. By keeping track of how much acceleration there is on an object, and how long it lasts, the INS can easily work out what the velocity is by multiplying the acceleration by time.

Through a process known as dead reckoning an un-aided INS can still accurately calculate its position. By understanding its last known position and having a knowledge of where it’s heading and how long it takes to get there the INS can calculate its new estimated position. Its important to take into account however, that an un-aided INS will drift over time.

OxTS Inertial Navigation Systems

OxTS manufacture inertial navigation systems each with varying levels of accuracy and form factor that make them ideal for a wide range of applications.

Each device comes with our free NAVsuite software that allows you to configure, monitor, post-process and analyse your INS data. The devices can be supplemented with a number of optional software tools and features that enable you to build a device tailored to your specific requirements.

 

RT3000 v4

For when where matters most


Learn more

RT3000 v4 DO-160

RT3000 v4 accuracy in an aerospace-ready, DO-160-certified enclosure.


Learn more

RT1003 v2

Ready for challenging GNSS environments


Learn more

xNAV650

Robust performance in an economical package
(Ethernet and Serial)


Learn more

AV200

Robust performance in an economical package
(Ethernet and CAN)


Learn more

xRED3000 – OEM board

for when competitive advantage matters


Learn more
return to top

Return to top

,