访问支持中心 访问支持中心 查找经销商 查找经销商 联系我们 联系我们

寻找卫星

行业文章 2020年10月13日

接收机启动后需要做的第一件事就是寻找卫星。它是如何做到这一点取决于它已经很久了,因为接收器最后锁定在一个GPS卫星。这是因为,正如我们在GPS信号页面中所讨论的那样GPS星座中的颗卫星会发送一个导航信息,而这个信息的一部分是一个包含星座中每颗卫星轨道粗略信息的年鉴。

年鉴数据可使用约六个月,因此,利用其最后已知的位置和当前的时间,接收器可以有根据地猜测哪些卫星应该出现在视野中。它之所以这样做,是因为替代方案是盲目地搜索所有卫星--而这可能需要一些时间。事实上,这就是为什么一个接收器有一段时间没有开机,或者自上次开机后被运到世界各地,可能需要大量的时间来获得GPS锁定--因为它必须盲目地搜索。

搜索卫星

给接收器供电

当接收器启动时,它使用当前的时间,它最后已知的位置和历法数据来计算出哪些卫星是应该能够看到。它搜索地平线以上150o的天空区域。

年鉴数据的有效期约为6个月,无需更新。

年鉴数据

年鉴数据还提供了一些关于卫星相对于接收机假设位置的移动情况。这使它能够猜测多普勒频移将如何影响每个卫星信号的频率。1575.42兆赫的L1频率可以移动多达10千赫兹。

频道搜索

大多数接收机都有大量的频道。每个通道都会搜索一个信号。如果它没有找到一个,它尝试一些新的参数。更多的通道减少了所需的时间,锁定在频率,相位和代码从一个给定的卫星。一旦锁定,通道可用于搜索其他卫星。

移动接收器

如果接收器自上次产生有效的位置测量结果后移动了很多,则需要更长的时间来锁定,因为它将寻找不在那里的卫星。同样,如果万年历已经过期,则需要采集一份新的副本。这需要12.5分钟的时间,但首先必须找到一个可以接收的卫星。

假设我们的接收器有有效的年历数据,并且自上次开机以来没有移动太多,它将对当前应该能够看到哪些卫星以及信号频率如何受多普勒频移的影响有一个合理认识。现在,它可以开始从希望从天线接收到的信号中看到的卫星中寻找信号。

接收器首先对信号的频率和 C/A 代码相位进行二维搜索。这并不容易,但作为最终用户,我们不需要对此过于担心。一旦接收器认为它从卫星上找到了信号,便对其进行确认,然后用 PLL(锁相环)和 CLL(代码锁环)锁定在卫星上。然后在解调数据之前搜索位同步。

所以,在这一点上,我们的'什么是GNSS?'系列,我们已经找到了卫星。接下来,我们需要知道如何计算出卫星的范围 - 这篇文章解释了如何做到这一点。

返回顶部

返回顶部

,

Visit Support Centre Find a Distributor Contact us

Finding satellites

Industry Articles October 13, 2020

The first thing a receiver needs to do when it’s powered up is look for satellites. How it does this depends on long it has been since the receiver was last locked on to a GPS satellite. That’s because, as discussed in our GPS signal page, each satellite in the GPS constellation transmits a navigation message, and part of that message is an almanac that contains rough information on the orbit of every satellite in the constellation.

Almanac data is useable for about six months, so using its last known position and the current time, the receiver can make an educated guess about which satellites should be in view. It tries this because the alternative is to blindly search for all satellites—and that can take some time. In fact, that’s why a receiver that hasn’t been powered up for some time, or has been shipped around the world since it was last powered on, can take a great deal of time to acquire GPS lock—because it has to blindly search.

Searching for satellites

Powering up the receiver

When the receiver is powered up, it uses the current time, its last known position and the almanac data to work out which satellites is should be able to see. It searches an area of sky 150o above the horizon.

Almanac data is valid for about six months without being updated.

Almanac data

Almanac data also gives some idea about how the satellites are moving relative to the receiver’s assumed location. This allows it to guess at how Doppler shift will affect the frequency of each satellite’s signal. The L1 frequency of 1575.42 MHz can shift by as much as 10 KHz.

Channel search

Most receivers have a large number of channels. Each channel searches for a signal. If it doesn’t find one, it tries some new parameters. More channels reduces the time required to lock on to the frequency, phase and code from a given satellite. Once locked, channels can be used to search for other satellites.

Moving the receiver

If the receiver has moved significantly since it last produced a valid position measurement, it will take longer to lock on as it will be looking for satellites that are not there. Equally, if the almanac is out of date a new copy will need to be captured. It takes 12.5 minutes to do this, but first a satellite must be found from which to receive.

On the assumption that our receiver has valid almanac data, and hasn’t moved much since it was last powered up, it will have a reasonable idea of which satellites it should be able to see at the current time and how the signal frequency will be affected by Doppler shift. It can now start to look for the signal from the satellites it expects to see in the signal the antenna is picking up.

The receiver begins by conducting a two-dimensional search for the signal’s frequency and C/A code phase. This is not easy, but as end-users, we don’t need to worry too much about this. Once the receiver thinks it has found the signal from a satellite it confirms this, then locks onto it with a PLL (Phase Locked Loop) and a CLL (Code Locked Loop). It then searches for bit synchronisation before demodulating the data.

So, now we have found the satellite, we need to know how to work out the range to the satellite – This article explains how to do this.

return to top

Return to top

,