访问支持中心 访问支持中心 查找经销商 查找经销商 联系我们 联系我们

GNSS接收器是如何工作的?

行业文章 2020年10月13日

大多数GNSS(全球导航卫星系统)接收器有两个部分;天线和处理单元或接收器。天线是接收卫星信号的地方,而接收器对接收到的信息进行理解,并将其转化为我们所理解的测量值,如经度和纬度。在双天线系统中,它们通常被称为 "主天线 "和 "副天线"。 所示的RT3000 ,其中内置了两个GNSS接收机。

虽然全球导航卫星系统接收器完成了所有工作,但它们产生的实际测量结果与天线本身的位置有关。这一点很重要,因为天线电缆的长度意味着接收器有时可能与输出的位置测量值相距甚远。在卫星导航仪和日常GPS产品上,这并不重要,因为它们的精度很少能超过几米。

全球导航卫星系统天线连接到RT3000 INS

重要的是要认识到,位置、速度和海拔的计算与天线本身有关,与接收器无关。为了解 GNSS 的工作原理,我们需要将 GNSS 分成几个部分,并了解每个部分。由于 GPS 是人们最熟悉的系统,因此让我们来了解一下它,它可以分成三个部分:

  • 太空段
  • 控制部分
  • 用户部分

太空段

太空段与在轨卫星有关。2015 年,GPS 星座由地球中轨道的 32 颗非对地静止卫星组成,尽管并非所有卫星都处于活动状态。每颗卫星在平均海拔 20,200 公里(即 26,571 公里的轨道半径)处,每 11 小时 58 分钟 2 秒绕轨道运行一圈。

GPS 卫星星座被排列成六个间隔相等的轨道平面,每个平面中不少于四颗卫星。这样的布置可确保几乎在任何时候都可以从地平线上方 15° 看到至少四颗卫星 - 尽管实际上通常能看到更多的卫星。

虽然卫星的年限和设计各不相同,但其工作原理保持不变。每个时钟都包含四个基频为 10.23 MHz 的高精度时钟,它们不断在 L 波段传输两个载波,这些载波以光速返回地球,被称为 L1 和 L2。

  • L1载波的频率为1575.42MHz(10.23MHz×154=1575.42MHz)。
  • L2载波的频率为1227.60 MHz(10.23 MHz×120=1227.60 MHz)。

载波是很重要的,因为它们把卫星的信息带回了地球,而正是这些信息让我们的接收器能够计算出我们的位置。请参阅我们的GPS信号页面了解更多细节。

控制部分

控制段是指位于地球各地(靠近赤道)的若干地面站,这些地面站用于跟踪、控制和向每颗 GPS 卫星发送信息。这是一个重要的部分,因为每颗卫星的时钟同步至关重要 — 整个系统依赖于计时。

发送到每颗卫星的轨道信息也至关重要,因为我们需要这些信息,以便找出发送信息时卫星的位置。所有这些信息都发送到卫星,然后通过 L1 载波导航信息发送到 GPS 接收器。

用户部分

用户段是大多数人感兴趣的部分。此段包括拥有 GPS 接收器的任何人或任何事物;卫星导航、手机、无人机、执法。那么它是如何工作的呢?

正如我们已经看到的,有一个卫星星座在我们头顶上运行,以光速将信息源源不断地传回地球。理解这如何帮助精确定位我们的位置需要一点时间,但它是基于一个叫做三分法的过程。
在我们涉足太多之前,我们应该纠正一个常见的误解。在任何时候,你的卫星导航仪或手机内的GNSS接收器都不会向卫星发送任何信息。我们今天使用的接收器是完全被动的--它们只接收信息。当欧洲的伽利略系统投入使用后,它的接收机将略有不同,因为会有一个应急功能,当启动时将会发送信息,但这不适用于正常运行。

当您听到人们谈论被 GPS 跟踪的东西(例如一辆装甲车)时,情况就是这样。车辆上的 GNSS 接收器正在接收来自卫星的信号,并确定其位置。一旦知道了位置,它就会使用其他系统(例如 GSM 数据连接)将该信息发送回某个监测站。

因此,目前,GNSS 接收器通过接收相关在轨卫星发送的信号来工作。使用的信号取决于接收器的类型。GPS 接收器只能使用 GPS 卫星的信号,而 GLONASS 接收器只能使用 GLONASS 卫星的信号。还有另一种接收器实际上可以从两种卫星(GPS 和 GLONASS)接收信号,以增强其测量范围。

那么,现在我们已经讨论了GNSS接收器的工作原理。为了全面回答 "什么是GNSS?"这个问题, 下一个要探讨的主题是 GPS接收机。

阅读"什么是GNSS?"系列的下一节。 GPS接收机如何计算出我在哪里?
返回顶部

返回顶部

美国,阿什本

Visit Support Centre Find a Distributor Contact us

How does a GNSS receiver work?

Industry Articles October 13, 2020

There are two parts to most GNSS receivers; the antenna and the processing unit or receiver. The antenna is where the satellite signals are received, while the receiver makes sense of the information being received and turns it into measurements we understand, such as latitude and longitude. On dual antenna systems, they are usually called the ‘primary’ and ‘secondary’ antennas.  The RT3000 unit shown has two GNSS receivers built into it.

GNSS antenna cabled to RT3000 INS

 

Although the GNSS receivers do all the work, the actual measurements they produce relate to the position of the antennas themselves. This is important to bear in mind, because the length of the antenna cables means a receiver can sometimes be quite a distance from the output position measurements. On sat navs and everyday GPS products, this doesn’t matter as they are rarely capable of accuracy greater than several metres anyway.

It’s important to recognise that the calculations about position, speed and altitude relate to the antenna itself, and not the receiver. To understand how a GNSS works, we need to break the GNSS into parts and understand a little bit about each one. As GPS is the system people are most familiar with we’ll just look at that, and break it down into three parts:

 

  • The space segment
  • The control segment
  • The user segment

 

The space segment

The space segment is concerned with the satellites in orbit. In 2015 the GPS constellation consists of 32 non-geostationary satellites in medium Earth orbit, although not all satellites are active. Each satellite orbits once every 11 hours, 58 minutes and 2 seconds at an average altitude of 20,200 km (that’s an orbital radius of 26,571 km).

The GPS satellite constellation is arranged into six equally-spaced orbital planes, with no fewer than four satellites in each plane. This arrangement ensures a minimum of four satellites can be seen 15° above the horizon at almost any time, from any point on the planet—although in reality there are generally more.

While satellites vary in age and design, their principle of operation remains the same. Each one contains four highly accurate clocks with a fundamental frequency of 10.23 MHz, and they and constantly transmit two carrier waves in the L-Band that travel back to earth at the speed of light. These carrier waves are referred to as L1 and L2.

  • The L1 carrier has a frequency of 1575.42 MHz (10.23 MHz × 154 = 1575.42 MHz).
  • The L2 carrier has a frequency of 1227.60 MHz (10.23 MHz × 120 = 1227.60 MHz).

The carrier waves are important because they bring the information from the satellite back to earth, and it’s that information that allows our receiver to work out where we are. Please see our GPS signal page for more details on this.

The control segment

The control segment refers to a number of ground stations situated around the globe (close to the equator) that are used to track, control and send information to each of the GPS satellites. This is an important role as it is vital the clocks in each satellite are synchronised—because the whole system relies on timing.

The orbit information that is sent up to each satellite is vital too, because we need it in order to work out where the satellite was when the information was sent. All of this information is sent up to the satellites, then carried to your GPS receiver within the L1 carrier wave navigation message.

The User segment

The user segment is the part most people are interested in. This segment includes anyone or anything with a GPS receiver; sat navs, mobile phones, UAVs, law enforcement. So how does it work?

As we’ve already seen, there is a constellation of satellites orbiting above our heads, sending a constant stream of information back to earth at the speed of light. Understanding how this helps pinpoint our location takes a bit of time, but it is based on a process called trilateration.
Before we get too involved, we should correct a common misconception. At no point does the GNSS receiver inside your sat nav or phone send any information up to the satellites. The receivers we use today are completely passive—they only receive information. When Europe’s Galileo system is operational, its receivers will be slightly different because there will be an emergency function, which will send information when activated, but this won’t apply in normal operation.

When you hear people talking about something being tracked by GPS, an armoured car for example, what is happening is this. The GNSS receiver on the vehicle is receiving signals from the satellites and working out where it is. Once it knows its position, it sends this information using some other system, a GSM data connection for example, back to some monitoring station.

 

So, for the time being, GNSS receivers work by receiving signals sent from the relevant satellites in orbit. The signals that are used depend on the type of receiver. A GPS receiver can only make use of signals from the GPS satellites, while a GLONASS receiver can only use signals from GLONASS satellites. There is another kind of receiver that can actually take signals from both types of satellites though (GPS and GLONASS), to augment its measurements.

So, now we’ve discussed how a GNSS receiver works. In order to provide a comprehensive answer to the question,What is GNSS?’ the next subject to explore is GPS receivers.

return to top

Return to top

,