访问支持中心 访问支持中心 查找经销商 查找经销商 联系我们 联系我们

为什么在移动测绘车辆上使用惯性导航系统 (INS) 很重要?

应用说明2016 年 1 月 21 日

什么是移动测绘?

移动测绘是从移动车辆收集地理空间信息的方法。适用于各种平台,从小轿车到卡车、火车到休闲车,移动测绘提供了一种高效、动态地测绘环境的方法。移动测绘车辆使用一系列成像传感器(包括数码摄影相机、视频或激光扫描仪)收集数据,以绘制沿途要素。正在绘制的要素可能包括车辆路线旁的坡度或轮廓、道路旁侧设施的位置和类型(如指示牌和隔音屏障、周围植被的高度和结构或路面本身的状况)。绘制这些要素所需的测量准确性、精度和频率有很大差异,因此摄像机每秒能拍摄多个图像,或者激光扫描仪每秒可收集一百万个单个的数据点。

因此,移动测绘系统需要能够收集数据,以便用户能够在移动测绘工具移动时找到和定位感兴趣的数据特征。定位这些数据不仅需要了解车辆的位置,还需要了解车辆的方向和前进速度。由于在一定频率下捕获数据,这是需要在移动测绘车辆整个过程中不断了解的信息。全球定位系统 (GPS) 等测量技术是众所周知的,应用广泛,但仅仅依靠 GPS 将导致移动测绘结果不完整。在这里,使用惯性导航系统来提供完整的移动测绘解决方案非常重要。

使用GeoTracker移动测绘车进行道路剖析

图 1:移动测绘车辆在运行。图片由瑞典WSP提供。

为什么不只使用 GPS 来定位移动测绘车辆呢?

20 多年来,测绘员使用 GPS 来创建和更新地图已司空见惯。这些系统通过从持续绕地球运行的全球导航卫星系统 (GNSS) 网络接收的定时信息计算地球表面的位置。GNSS 系统访问的卫星星座可能包括美国主导的全球定位系统 (GPS) 项目、俄罗斯 GLONASS 星座,或正在开发的其他星座之一,如欧洲主导的 GALILEO,或以中国的北斗项目。为了便于说明,将分别采用术语 GPS 和 GNSS。

在进行移动测绘时,单靠 GPS 数据面临着挑战。与使用全球定位系统有关的问题包括与 GPS 接收器等问题,这些问题需要始终至少拥有四个全球导航卫星系统,以获得经度、纬度和高度坐标。此外,在地球某一特定部分上空,全球导航卫星系统卫星在任何时间的整体分布可能无法形成清晰视线。 获得位置坐标的程度还取决于环境中的结构是否遮挡了接收器,导致无法清晰看到天空,因此高楼大厦或悬垂的树木可能会在 GPS 计算的位置范围内造成中断。在进行移动测绘时,这个问题可能更为严重,因为车辆经常穿越 GPS 信号差的地区(如城市中心或森林)。此外,即使可以看到所需的卫星数量,从全球定位系统记录位置测量的频率也可能与车辆上的传感器获取图像的频率不同。因此,需要了解车辆在 GPS 不可用时的位置,并能够测量或预测车辆在两次接收到 GPS 读数之间所行驶的位置。

城市环境中的全球导航卫星系统与INS

图 2:在城市环境中进行移动测绘时 GPS 中断的图示

最后,移动测绘系统必须连续计算移动测绘车上传感器的外部方向。当车辆行驶时,除了测量数据点之间的直线距离外,还需要根据车辆的侧倾、俯仰和偏航来描述其运动。虽然 GPS 除了可以了解航向外,还可以提供有关特定时间车辆地理坐标的信息;但系统不知道一些相关参数,例如车辆是否朝向斜坡或景观中的要素移动(或经过)的速度。

使用惯性导航系统的完整移动测绘

实际上,当使用一系列传感器在车辆移动时定位车辆的位置和方向时,最好进行移动测绘。这些附加传感器有助于在位置未知时填补空白,通常包括:

  • 全球定位系统接收器,用于计算纬度、经度和海拔。
  • 用于测量行驶距离的里程表
  • 用于测量车辆的侧倾、俯仰和航向的惯性测量单元 (IMU) 及其传感器。
  • 计算机处理单元,包含各种统计算法,用于基于上述传感器的累积读数,预测移动测绘车辆的位置。

惯性导航系统 (INS) 是包含 IMU 的计算系统,它接受 GPS 和里程表系统的输入(如果可用),以计算车辆的整体最可能位置。

流动测绘车的组成部分

图 3:移动测绘车辆的部件

提供与移动测绘车辆运动动态相关的大量信息的硬件组件是 IMU。IMU 由陀螺仪和加速度计的组件组成,可提供与车辆在三个轴上的线性加速度相关的连续数据流以及三组旋转参数。为了提供与移动测绘车辆行驶距离相关的额外测量,并减少在具有挑战性的 GNSS 环境中的漂移,大多数陆基车辆将配备机械或激光车轮传感器(里程表),以测量车轮转速。

最后,作为 INS 上的处理单元或者单独的车载计算机进行集成;将采用算法检查和分析来自连接到 GPS 的传感器的输入数据。使用一系列统计算法(如 Kalman 滤波器),根据每个实例上可用的所有信息计算移动测绘车辆及其测量传感器的绝对位置和方向。这些算法的统计要素提供了方法可以整理从传感器馈送到 INS 的信息的,并能够计算车辆行驶的轨迹。通过航位推算过程,在 GPS 数据不可用时,可以计算车辆在统计学上最可能的位置。

INS 系统使移动测绘系统能够在车辆行驶时,在各种环境中以高度的置信度持续收集空间参考信息。通过更好地了解移动车辆平台的动态,移动测绘系统的操作员能够找到并定位其成像传感器捕获的数据。

返回顶部

返回顶部

美国,阿什本

Visit Support Centre Find a Distributor Contact us

Why is it important to use an inertial navigation system (INS) on a mobile mapping vehicle?

Application Notes January 21, 2016

What is mobile mapping?

Mobile mapping is the method of collecting geospatial information from a moving vehicle.  Applied to a variety of platforms ranging from cars to trucks, trains to recreational vehicles; mobile mapping provides a means to efficiently and dynamically map the environment.  Mobile mapping vehicles   collect data to map features along the route using a range of imaging sensors that include digital photographic cameras, video or laser scanners.  The features that are being mapped might include slopes or contours alongside the vehicles’ route, the position and type of road side assets such as signage and noise barriers, the height and structure of surrounding vegetation, or condition of the road surface itself.  The accuracy, precision and frequency of measurements that are required to map these features will vary dramatically, so cameras may be taking multiple images per second or laser scanners could be collected a million individual data points per second.

A mobile mapping system therefore needs to be able to collect data in such a way that users are able to locate and position features of interest in data collected by the mobile mapping vehicle, while it is in motion.  Positioning these data not only requires knowledge of where the vehicle is located, but also the orientation and onward velocity of the vehicle.  Due to the frequency at which data is captured, this is information that needs to be understood continuously throughout the passage of the mobile mapping vehicle.  Survey technologies such as global positioning systems (GPS) are well known and widely used, but relying only upon GPS will lead to incomplete mobile mapping results.  This is where it is important that an inertial navigation system is used to deliver a complete mobile mapping solution.

Road profiling with GeoTracker mobile mapping vehicles

Figure 1: Mobile mapping vehicles in operation. Images courtesy of WSP Sweden.

Why not just use GPS to position mobile mapping vehicles?

The use of GPS by surveyors to create and update maps has been commonplace for over 20 years.  These systems calculate a position on the earth’s surface by way of timing information received from a network of global navigation satellite systems (GNSS) that continually orbit the earth.  The satellite constellations accessed by the GNSS systems might include the original US-led Global Positioning System (GPS) project, the Russian GLONASS constellation, or one of the other constellations under development such as the European -led GALILEO, or China -based BeiDou projects.  For the purpose of these descriptions, the generic terms of GPS and GNSS will be used respectively.

When undertaking mobile mapping, there are challenges associated with relying upon GPS data alone.  Issues related to the use of GPS include those associated with the GPS receiver needing to have a clean line of sight to at least four GNSS at any one time to obtain longitude, latitude and altitude coordinates.  In addition, the overall distribution of GNSS satellites above a particular portion of the earth at any one time may not lead to a clear line of sight.  The extent to which location coordinates can be acquired will also depend upon whether structures in the environment occlude the receiver from clearly seeing the sky, and so tall buildings or overhanging trees can cause outages in the extent to which a GPS can calculate its position.  This problem can be even more acute when undertaking mobile mapping, as vehicles often travel through GPS deprived areas such as urban centers or forests.  In addition, even if the required number of satellites can be seen, the frequency at which location measurements are recorded from a GPS is likely to be different to the frequency at which images are being acquired by the sensors on the vehicle.  As a result, there is a need to understand what the location of the vehicle is at times where GPS is unavailable, and be able to measure, or predict where the vehicle has travelled in between GPS readings that are received.

GNSS in urban environments vs INS

Figure 2: Illustration of GPS outage when mobile mapping in urban environment

Finally, a mobile mapping system must continuously calculate the exterior orientation of the sensors on the mobile mapping vehicle.  As the vehicle is traveling, in addition to measuring a straight line distance between data points, its movement also needs to be described in terms of the roll, pitch and yaw of the vehicle.  While GPS can provide information on the geographic coordinates of the vehicle at a particular time, in addition to an understanding of heading; the system does not know about parameters such as whether the vehicle is pointing up a slope or how fast it is moving towards (or past) features in the landscape.

Complete mobile mapping using an inertial navigation system

In practice, mobile mapping is best undertaken when a range of sensors are being used to locate the position, direction and orientation of the vehicle, while it is moving.  These additional sensors help fill in the gaps when a location is unknown, and usually include:

  • GPS receivers, for calculating latitude, longitude and elevation
  • An odometer, for measuring distance travelled
  • An inertial measurement unit (IMU), for measuring roll, pitch and heading of the vehicle and the sensors upon it.
  • A computer processing unit containing various statistical algorithms for predicting the position of the mobile mapping vehicle, based upon the accumulated readings from the sensors described above.

The inertial navigation system (INS) is the computational system that includes an IMU, and takes input from the GPS and odometer systems (when available) to calculate the overall most likely position of the vehicle.

Components of a mobile mapping vehicle

Figure 3: Components of a mobile mapping vehicle

The hardware component that provides much of the information related to the dynamics of the mobile mapping vehicle’s motion is the IMU.  Comprised of an assembly of gyroscopes and accelerometers, the IMU will provide a continuous stream of data related to the linear acceleration of the vehicle on three axes, together with the three sets of rotation parameters.  To provide additional measurements related to distance travelled by the mobile mapping vehicle and to reduce drift in challenging GNSS environments, most land-based vehicles will be fitted with a mechanical or laser-based wheel sensor (odometer) to measure wheel revolutions.

Finally, either integrated as a processing unit on the INS or as separate on-board computer; algorithms will be applied that check and analyse the input data from the sensors connected to the GPS. Using a range of statistical algorithms such as Kalman filters, absolute positions and orientations of the mobile mapping vehicle and its survey sensors will be calculated based upon all of the information available at each instance in time.  The statistical element of these algorithms provides a means to collate the information from the sensors that feed into the INS, and is able to calculate a trajectory over which the vehicle has been moving. Through a processes known as dead reckoning, this enables a statistically most-likely position of the vehicle to be calculated at times when GPS data is not available.

The INS system enables the mobile mapping system to continuously collect spatially referenced information with a high degree of confidence across a range of environments as the vehicle travels.  By understanding the dynamics of the moving vehicle platform better, operators of mobile mapping systems are able to locate and position the data captured by the imaging sensors mounted upon it.

return to top

Return to top

,