访问支持中心 访问支持中心 查找经销商 查找经销商 联系我们 联系我们

ADAS传感器

行业文章 2020年11月5日

传感器技术是ADAS发展的关键驱动力。ADAS和自动驾驶功能依靠连续不断的车辆周围环境信息流来实现,而传感器的工作就是提供这些信息。

传感器不仅要检测驾驶员能看到的一切,还要检测驾驶员看不到的东西--或没有注意到的东西。目前已经有许多不同种类的传感器在使用,每种传感器在能力、成本和封装方面都有各自的优缺点,而且越来越多的情况是,每一种ADAS功能都使用一种以上的传感器。每种类型的传感器都有公认的优点和缺点,因此通过结合不同的技术,可以完善ADAS的功能。这种传感器技术的融合正在迅速成为常态--那么任务就是准确而快速地处理来自多个来源的数据。

另一个需要考虑的因素是传感器的坚固性和耐久性。虽然一些传感器可以安装在车辆的驾驶室内,但许多传感器需要安装在车辆的极端位置,即保险杠的角落和格栅后面等脆弱区域的外部,而这些环境对于高科技设备来说可能是恶劣的。汽车保险和维修行业也对车辆发生事故时更换或重新校准昂贵的传感器问题表示担忧。

ADAS的日益普及和自主车辆的不断发展,推动了传感器技术的加速进步。在物体检测和分类方面,许多已经投入使用的系统仍在相对基础的水平上运行,ADAS功能要想跃升到完全自主应用,还有很长的路要走。例如,目前的系统可能难以识别超出非常具体形态的行人。如果一个人穿着明显改变其轮廓的衣服,如果他们携带着一个大的物体,或者如果他们低于一定的高度,他们可能无法识别。然而,随着技术的发展,这些局限性将不可避免地得到解决。

目前的ADAS传感器技术主要可以分为四类,我们再来详细了解一下。

雷达

也许在目前ADAS传感器所采用的所有技术中,最广为人知的是雷达。雷达是无线电探测和测距的首字母缩写,是一种成熟的技术,它通过测量发射的无线电波从路径上的任何物体反射回来所需的时间来探测物体。雷达最早是在第二次世界大战前由几个国家同时开发的军事用途,但今天它在陆地、海洋、空中和太空中都有许多应用。雷达在汽车系统中的应用已经有一些年头了,所以硬件很发达,价格也比较实惠,对汽车制造商很有吸引力。

对于ADAS应用,雷达可分为三类:短程雷达(SRR)、中程雷达(MMR)和长程雷达(LRR)。
SRR系统传统上使用24 GHz区域的微波,但由于24 GHz频率的带宽有限和不断变化的监管要求等原因,行业已经转向77 Ghz。SRR的有效范围约为10米,但最远可达30米,因此适用于盲点检测、变道辅助、停车辅助和交叉交通监测系统。

MRR和LRR ADAS功能已经使用77GHz频率,该频率在速度和距离测量方面具有更高的分辨率(相对而言)和更高的精确度。MRR的工作范围在30米到80米之间,而LRR系统的工作范围在某些情况下可以延伸到200米,因此适用于自适应巡航控制、前方碰撞预警和自动紧急制动等系统。LRR的一个缺点是,它的测量范围会随着距离的增加而减小,因此一些功能,如自适应巡航控制,将SRR和LRR传感器的输入结合起来。

除了它是一项成熟的技术外,雷达在ADAS使用中的另一个关键优势是它能够在雨、雪、雾等恶劣天气和夜间有效地发挥作用。然而,它的局限性也同样被业界公认,即雷达不能提供足够的分辨率来识别物体是什么,只能说它在那里。在汽车应用中,它的视野也是有限的,因此需要在车辆上安装一些传感器,才能提供适当的覆盖范围。此外,使用24GHz频率的SRR难以区分多个目标。

超声波

超声波传感器利用反射的声波来计算与物体的距离。在所有的ADAS传感器技术中,超声波是最古老、最成熟的技术,蝙蝠使用它的历史已经有5000万年左右,超声波系统一般在工业、科研和医学上都有巨大的应用范围。

超声波传感器,也称为超声波传感器,其有效工作范围相对较短--约2米,因此通常用于低速系统。它们在停车传感器中的应用已经普及了一段时间,但它们也在更复杂的ADAS功能中找到了一席之地,如停车辅助、自动停车和一些盲点监测应用。超声波传感器具有成本效益,而且相对坚固可靠,此外,它们不受夜间或其他挑战性光照条件的影响,如明亮的低阳光。

然而,鉴于现有的超声波传感器范围有限,一些制造商正在放弃这些传感器,转而使用短程雷达。最新的后方交叉交通/行人警报系统尤其如此,该系统将现有的停车传感器技术与额外的盲点探测相结合,尽管超声波技术的最新发展使一些传感器的探测范围扩大到8-10米左右,使其适用于此类应用。

激光雷达

激光雷达("激光"和"雷达"的缩写,或"光探测和测距"或"激光成像、探测和测距"的缩写--任选其一)的工作原理与雷达基本相同,但将电磁波换成激光,以生成周围环境的高分辨率三维图像。激光雷达最早在20世纪60年代被开发出来,用于气象、测量和绘图,但最近又被用于ADAS和自主车辆开发应用。大致来说,汽车行业--除了特斯拉--正在对冲,激光雷达是ADAS和自主应用的最佳解决方案。

激光雷达有两种基本类型,但都采用相同的基本原理,即测量反射激光。在第一种情况下,脉冲激光发射到旋转镜上,旋转镜将激光束向多个方向辐射。这类系统非常有效,射程可达300米或更远,如果安装在屋顶,则可提供360°的清晰视野。然而,它们的尺寸限制了它们在生产车辆上用于ADAS功能,而且它们也很昂贵。同一主题的一个更紧凑、更适合ADAS的变体使用了 微机电系统(MEMS)技术的旋转镜来辐射激光束。

第二种类型称为固态激光雷达,目前正在开发其中的几种变体。一种是通过一个光学相控阵发射一束激光,以便将光束引向多个方向,而另一种是所谓的闪光激光雷达,使用一个激光脉冲或闪光来产生图像。

两种主要系统各有优缺点。固态激光雷达更适合用于汽车领域,因为它更坚固,但在每种情况下,发射的激光都会被范围内的任何物体反射回来,并被一个高灵敏度的光电探测器接收,然后将信息转换为附近环境的3D模型。

正是由于该三维模型的细节和分辨率,使激光雷达具有成为如此强大工具的潜力。通过适当的分析算法,激光雷达系统有能力探测物体,区分物体并准确跟踪它们,所有这些都是高分辨率的三维模型。激光雷达在雨雪中也能很好地工作,尽管它可能会受到大雾的不利影响,但其功能在夜间不受影响。

从历史上看,激光雷达在汽车生产应用中的价格一直非常昂贵,但随着技术的完善和成本的降低,激光雷达在ADAS开发中慢慢变得越来越普遍。全自动汽车的原型车已经利用笨重的车顶安装的激光雷达系统取得了很好的效果,但是这样的设置对于商业化的ADAS应用来说是不切实际的,而且价格也是非常昂贵的。目前,足够紧凑、足够实惠的激光雷达系统可以包装在量产车上,但范围相对有限,只有几十米而不是几百米,因此只在低速时有效。

摄像机

基于摄像头的解决方案已成为ADAS开发商首选的传感器技术。它们有其局限性--即在恶劣天气和低光或具有挑战性的光线条件下,它们的性能容易受到影响--但与雷达或超声波传感器相比,该技术虽然相对较新,但已经具备了能力和通用性。与其他传感器不同的是,摄像头是唯一能够识别颜色和对比度信息的传感器,这使得它们非常适合捕捉道路标志和道路标线信息,而且它们还提供了对行人、骑车人和摩托车司机等物体进行分类的分辨率。摄像机还具有极高的成本效益,这使其对批量销售的汽车制造商特别具有吸引力。由于技术的局限性,摄像头传感器的数据正越来越多地与雷达相结合,以便在更广泛的条件下提供更强大和可靠的数据流。

摄像机既可用于单目,也可越来越多地用于双目ADAS应用。前向单目摄像头系统具有中远距离功能,如车道保持辅助、交叉交通警报和交通标志识别系统。后向摄像头主要作为驾驶员倒车辅助装置而得到广泛的应用。仪表板安装的屏幕上显示车后区域的镜像视图,在某些情况下,还增加了相对于方向盘运动的位置图形,以提供停车指导。

前向双目相机或立体相机是最近发展起来的。一对摄像机能够呈现出基本上是三维的图像,提供计算复杂的深度信息所需的信息,如与移动物体的距离,使其适用于主动巡航控制和前方碰撞预警应用。

在ADAS开发中占有一席之地的相机技术的另一个分支是热成像。热成像相机不使用可见光,或仅有的一点可见光,而是非常适合检测人类和动物,特别是在能见度低或夜间的情况下,或者仅仅是在繁忙和混乱的驾驶环境中。同样,这项技术在整个汽车行业已经非常成熟,并得到了广泛的应用,大约在10年前首次作为被动夜视辅助系统出现在高端品牌车型上。

热像仪的射程可达300米左右,而且不受雾气、灰尘、低日照的眩光影响,当然也不受完全黑暗的影响,在ADAS开发者的传感器技术库中,热像仪可以发挥宝贵的作用。

本文是''的一部分。什么是ADAS?'系列。

请阅读"什么是ADAS?"系列的下一节。道路上的先进驾驶辅助系统
返回顶部

返回顶部

,

Visit Support Centre Visit Support Centre Find a Distributor Find a Distributor Contact us Contact us

ADAS sensors

Industry Articles November 5, 2020

Sensor technology is a key driver of ADAS development. ADAS and autonomous driving functions feed off a continuous stream of information about the environment surrounding the vehicle, and it’s the sensors’ job to provide that.

The sensor is required to detect not only everything the driver can see but also that which the driver can’t – or hasn’t noticed. There are a number of different kinds of sensor already in use, each with their own advantages and disadvantages in terms of capability, cost and packaging, and it is increasingly the case that more than one type of sensor is used for each ADAS function. Each type of sensor has acknowledged strengths and weaknesses, so by combining different technologies it’s possible to refine the ADAS functions. This fusion of sensor technology is rapidly becoming the norm – the task then is to process the influx of data from multiple sources both accurately and quickly.

Another factor to consider is the robustness and durability of the sensors. While some sensors can be inside the vehicle’s cabin, many require mounting externally towards the vehicle’s extremes, in vulnerable areas such as the corners of bumpers and behind the grille, and these can be hostile environments for high-tech equipment. The automotive insurance and repair industry has also raised concerns about the issue of expensive sensor replacement or recalibration if the vehicle is involved in an accident.

The growing uptake of ADAS and the ongoing development of autonomous vehicles is driving the advance of sensor technology at an accelerated rate. In terms of object detection and classification, many systems already in use are still operating at a relatively basic level and there is a long way to go before ADAS functionality can make the jump to fully autonomous applications. Current systems can, for example, struggle to identify pedestrians beyond a very specific form. They may fail to recognise a person wearing clothing that significantly alters their outline, if they are carrying a large object or if they are below a certain height. As the technology develops, however, these limitations will inevitably be addressed.

Current ADAS sensor technology can be divided into four main categories, which we’ll look at in a bit more detail.

Radar

Perhaps the best-recognised of all the technologies currently adopted for ADAS sensors is radar. Radar – an acronym for radio detection and ranging – is a well-established technology that detects objects by measuring the time it takes for transmitted radio waves to reflect back off any objects in their path. Radar was first developed concurrently by several nations for military use in the lead-up to the Second World War, but today it has many applications on land, in the sea, in the air and in space. Radar has been in use in automotive systems for some years now, so the hardware is well developed and relatively affordable, making it attractive to car manufacturers.

For ADAS applications radar can be divided into three categories: short-range radar (SRR), mid-range radar (MMR) and long-range radar (LRR).
SRR systems traditionally used microwaves in the region of 24 GHz but there has been an industry shift towards 77 Ghz due to, among other things, the 24 GHz frequency’s limited bandwidth and changing regulatory requirements. SRRs have a useful range of around 10 metres but up to 30 metres, making them suitable for blind spot detection, lane-change assist, park assist and cross-traffic monitoring systems.

MRR and LRR ADAS functions already use the 77 GHz frequency, which offers higher resolution (relatively speaking) and greater accuracy for speed and distance measurements. MRR operates between 30 metres and 80 metres, while LRR systems have a range extending up to 200 metres in some cases, making them suitable for systems such as adaptive cruise control, forward collision warning and automatic emergency braking. One of LRR’s disadvantages is that it’s measurement angel decreases with range, so some functions, such as adaptive cruise control, combine inputs from both SRR and LRR sensors.

Aside from it being a proven technology, radar’s other key advantages for ADAS use are its ability to function effectively in poor weather, such as rain, snow and fog, and at night. It’s limitations, however, are equally well acknowledged by the industry, namely that radar doesn’t offer sufficient resolution to identify what an object is, only to say that it’s there. It also has a limited field of view in automotive applications, so a number of sensors are required on the vehicle in order to provide appropriate coverage. Additionally, SRR using the 24 GHz frequency struggles to differentiate between multiple targets.

Ultrasonic

Ultrasonic sensors use reflected sound waves to calculate the distance to objects. Of all the ADAS sensor technologies ultrasonics are the oldest and most well-established – bats have been using it for around 50 million years – and ultrasound systems generally have an enormous range of applications in both industry, scientific research and medicine.

Ultrasonic sensors, also known as ultrasonic transducers, have a relatively short effective operating range – around 2 metres – so they are typically used in low-speed systems. Their use in parking sensors has been widespread for some time, but they have also found a place in more complex ADAS functions such as park assist, self-parking and some blind-spot monitoring applications. Ultrasonic sensors are cost-effective and relatively robust and reliable, plus they are unaffected by night-time or other challenging light conditions, such as bright, low sunlight.

Given the limited range of established ultrasonic sensors, however, some manufacturers are abandoning them in favour of short-range radar. This is particularly the case with the latest rear cross-traffic/pedestrian alert systems that combine existing parking sensor technology with additional blind-spot detection, although recent developments in ultrasonic technology have seen the ranges of some sensors extend to 8-10 metres or so, making them suitable for such applications.

Lidar

Lidar (a contraction of ‘laser’ and ‘radar’, or an acronym for, variously, ‘light detection and ranging’ or ‘laser imaging, detection and ranging’ – take your pick) works on essentially the same principle as radar but swaps electromagnetic waves for lasers to generate a high-resolution 3D image of the surrounding environment. Lidar was first developed in the 1960s for meteorological, surveying and mapping use but has more recently been adopted for ADAS and autonomous vehicle development applications. Broadly speaking the automotive industry – with the exception of Tesla – is hedging its bets that Lidar is the best solution for ADAS and autonomous applications.

There are two basic types of Lidar but both adopt the same fundamental principle of measuring reflected laser light. In the first instance, a pulsed laser is emitted onto a rotating mirror which radiates the laser beam in multiple directions. These systems are extremely effective, with a range of 300 metres or more and, if roof-mounted, offer a clear, 360° field of view. Their size, however, prohibits their use for ADAS functions on production vehicles and they are also expensive. A more compact and ADAS-friendly variation of the same theme uses a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) technology-based rotating mirror to radiate the laser beam.

The second type is known as solid-state Lidar, of which a couple of variations are being developed. One fires a single laser through an optical phased array in order to direct the beam in multiple directions, while the other, so-called flash Lidar, uses a single pulse, or flash, of laser to create its image.

Each of the two main systems has its advantages and disadvantages. Solid-state Lidar is preferable for automotive use not least for being more robust – but in each case the emitted laser is reflected back off any objects within range and is received by a highly sensitive photodetector, after which the information is converted into a 3D model of the immediate environment.

It is the detail and resolution of that 3D model that give Lidar the potential to be such a powerful tool. With the appropriate analytical algorithms, a Lidar system has the ability to detect objects, differentiate between them and accurately track them, all in high-resolution 3D. Lidar also works well in rain and snow, although it can be adversely affected by fog, and its function is unaffected at night.

Historically Lidar has been prohibitively expensive for use in production automotive applications, but it is slowly becoming more common in ADAS development as the technology is refined and costs come down. Prototype fully autonomous cars have already made use of the bulky roof-mounted Lidar systems to good effect, but such a set-up is impractical and prohibitively expensive for commercial ADAS applications. For the time being the Lidar systems that are compact enough – and affordable enough – to be packaged out of sight on production vehicles have a relatively limited range measured in the tens of metres rather than hundreds and are therefore only effective at lower speeds.

Cameras

Camera-based solutions have gained traction as the ADAS developer’s sensor technology of choice. They have their limitations – namely their susceptibility to compromised performance in poor weather and low or challenging light conditions – but the technology, while relatively new compared with, say, radar or ultrasonic sensors, is already capable and versatile. Unlike the other sensors here, cameras are the only ones able to identify colour and contrast information, which makes them ideally suited to capturing road sign and road marking information, and they also offer the resolution to classify objects such as pedestrians, cyclists and motorcyclists. Cameras are also extremely cost-effective, which makes them particularly attractive to volume-selling vehicle manufacturers. Due to the limitations of the technology, the data from cameras sensors is increasingly being combined with radar to provide a more robust and reliable data stream across a wider variety of conditions.

Cameras are used in both monocular and, increasingly, binocular ADAS applications. Forward-facing monocular camera systems feature in medium- to long-range functions such as lane-keeping assistance, cross-traffic alert and traffic sign recognition systems. Rear-facing cameras have enjoyed widespread adoption primarily as a reversing aid for the driver. A mirror-image view of the area behind the car is displayed on a dashboard-mounted screen, in some cases augmented with positional graphics relative to steering wheel movement to provide parking guidance.

Forward-facing Binocular or stereo cameras are a more recent development. A pair of cameras is able to present an essentially 3D image that provides the information necessary to calculate complex depth information such as the distance to a moving object, making them suitable for active cruise control and forward collision warning applications.

Another branch of camera technology that has established a foothold in ADAS development is thermal imaging. Instead of using visible light, or what little of it that might be available, thermal imaging cameras are ideally suited to detecting humans and animals, particularly in conditions of poor visibility or at night, or simply in an otherwise busy and cluttered driving environment. Again, the technology is well-established and widely in use across the automotive industry, first appearing as passive night vision assist systems on premium-brand models around 10 years ago.

Thermal imaging cameras have a range of up to 300 metres or so and are unaffected by fog, dust, glare from low sun and, of course, complete darkness, and they have a valuable role to play in the ADAS developers arsenal of sensor technologies.

This article is part of the ‘What is ADAS?‘ series.

Read the next section in the ‘What is ADAS?’ series: Advanced driver assistance systems on the road 
return to top

Return to top

Washington, US